top of page

"HEAR NO EVIL": CLEAN MUSIC CHALLENGE


"Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything"

-Plato

Could you picture a life without music? I can't, life would be completely boring without it! I love how music has this unique ability to connect people from all over the world. You don't even have to speak the same language as the artist in the song because that doesn't keep you from singing along! I love how a song can put all my feelings into a melody and it seems like only me and the artist understand what I'm going through. Music is fun, freeing, and exciting! It puts your feelings into words, provides the soundtrack for your greatest memories, and allows you to escape your reality for 3-5 mins!

However, today's most popular music seems to be taking a turn around some dark corners lately and I wonder if you've noticed or if you've been to mesmerized by the melody, caught up with the hook, or lost in the bass? Have you ever taken the time to really listen to the lyrics and see if they agree with the things you believe or better yet what God's word says?

Well I propose a challenge! For the next few weeks listen to clean music. No, I don't mean just listen to the clean version of your favorite song, I mean entertain music that is morally pure! While listening, think about how Jesus would feel if He was listening along with you. Would He clap along or would His Spirit be grieved by the lyrics?

I get it, it's just music right? Its not that deep...so you may think. But its just like the opening quotes states, "music gives wings to the mind & flight to the imagination". So if your choice of music is impure, what kind of influence has it had on your thoughts and your actions?

Think about it!

If you accept my challenge, comment below! & I'll follow up with you in a few weeks!

** Check out some suggested artist in my music library to get started!**

Grace & Peace be with you

Kaneisha

bottom of page