top of page

P.A.U.S.E: Am I ready for what I'm praying for?


I remember the first time I got behind the wheel of a car. I was so excited to put all my passenger seat wisdom into action, I thought, "How hard can this be, I just put my foot on the gas, and turn the wheel where I want to go right?, no worries!" I later learned that there was a lot more to driving than just pressing the gas and turning the steering wheel. Driving involves many techniques and focus. I thought I was ready to drive based on what it looked like and what I read, but to my surprise I wasn’t quite ready for the responsibility and technique that came with it.  Like learning to drive, everything we hope to gain out of life isn't always so concrete.    

I'm often overwhelmed with thoughts about my future like; will I ever get married, have children, be successful, be debt free, have my own place, "Lord when is it my turn!". These thoughts become toxic causing anxiety, fear, and eventually lead me to believe the lie that I'll never see these things happen. I find myself a little angry with God about why these things have yet to happen for me, like He's purposely with-holding things from me for no reason! But one day the Holy Spirit challenged me, & I just heard the phrase "Am I truly ready for the things I'm hoping for?" Woah! That shook me, as I thought about it I realized that my answer was....NO.  

Sometimes You Just Need to PAUSE and Reflect!

Where you are mentally and emotionally right now? Are you truly equipped to handle what it is you're desiring? You may say, "well duh! I'm obviously ready for it if I'm asking", but think a little deeper.

For me, marriage is a desire that is always on my mind. I think I'm ready, but then again, but there is way more to marriage than a wedding day. It takes sacrifice, and submission and many other things that require some real guidance & humility! I know no one is perfect, but If I'm real with myself, I know I got some baggage I need to let God sort through before I go on that journey. Aside from character improvements, I'd like to be financially stable and have my career and my purpose established before marriage as well, I feel like God wants these things for me first too, although it's difficult to admit.

Since the goal is to get married, stay married, & display marriage the way God intended, I understand that I simply just can't rush the process. There are obviously things in me that need to be established before I'm joined with someone else forever...I can't hop in the driver seat of marriage or even dating without a solid foundation of my identity (in Christ) and His plans for me as His daughter.  

"A man’s heart plans his course, but the LORD determines his steps." 

(Proverbs 16:9) 

Reevaluate Your Source! 

God helped me to realize that my frustration during my wait is a result of me placing all my hope in my desires instead of in Him #Idolatry. As I always say, there is nothing wrong with wanting things, especially when they align with God's word, but "things" were not designed to hold you together and they are not your identity

When we exchange our love & affection from God to things, it is a form of Idolatry! God should be our ultimate source, stuff happens, things & people come and go, that’s why anchoring your trust in either of them for your joy is so unsafe! What state of mind would you be in if they are taken away?   

"Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, 

 and he will give you everything you need." 

(Mathew 6:33)  

So, It may seem like we're ready, but because God is such a good Father and knows you better than YOU, He may be withholding some things for the sake of protecting you or further preparing you. What kind of a father would give his child an expensive gift they are not equipped to care for properly? The choices we make in life can be costly, especially when they are not a part of God's plan. So it's best to be entrusted with God's gifts when we are prepared to receive them and manage them well. 

“...No eye has seen, no ear has heard,      and no mind has imagined  what God has prepared      for those who love him" 

(1 Corinthians 2:9)

So PAUSE and Reflect!

Ask yourself the tough questions about you, where are you now? where do you hope to be? What's in the way of getting there? As cliché as it sounds, & as difficult as it is to accept at times, I honestly believe that trusting God's timing is best. I've found that I enjoy and appreciate His gifts even more when I needed them most or least expected them, so be PATIENT & ENDURE! #ThanksDad.  

P: 

Pray for clarity & ask God to guide you in the way you should go. 

A: 

Ask Him to reveal the voids in your heart that you've been trying to fill with other sources

U:

Use your time wisely, get in your Word! Thats how you gain wisdom & understanding 

S:

Search your heart, where have you compromised? Is there any Pride?, Unforgivness?, Unconfessed sin?

 E:

Endure through the waiting, Don't give up, hold on to God's promises!

"Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him; do not fret when people succeed in their ways,when they carry out their wicked schemes."  

(Psalm 37:7) 

The point is, with God wants me to endure this wait....not as a time out or a punishment, but to know HIM as my source for joy, love, stability, and security. With that understanding I will be prepared and content in every season of life. So I'll trust that He is completing a good work in me and that there is greatness in store! 

"Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all

that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us" 

(Ephesians 3:20) 

Grace & Peace Be With You, 

Kaneisha 

bottom of page