top of page

DETOUR


Commuting in Atlanta will eventually lead you to road rage. There is rarely a direct shot to your proposed destination because traffic is guaranteed for any time OR day of the week! It doesn’t matter how much you plan ahead, your commute time and route is always subject to change. Our journey with God is very similar to the unpredictable Atlanta commute, but learning to embrace the detours that come with it will ultimately benefit us when we arrive at our divine destinations.

"In their hearts humans plan their course, but the LORD establishes their steps."

(Proverbs 16:9)

By the time we are kindergartners we are already encouraged to start thinking about our future career path ( I wanted to be an astronaut when I grew up until I found out about black holes). We go on to plan out exactly what we hope to achieve or gain in our lives; what college, what career, when & who we'll marry, kids or no kids, where to live and so much more. We eventually narrow down the plan to our "realistic standards" and grow attached to it. But because of the attachment to our "road map of success" anything that happens or doesn’t happen according to plan causes us to panic! #RoadRage

Before I came to truly know Christ, I had my whole life planned. I was a star student in college with plans to pursue a career in law enforcement. I wanted to be an CSI Agent for the Georgia Bureau of Investigation. There was something so fascinating to me about piecing together the scene of a crime. I was always glued to the Investigation Discovery channel, closing cases before the end of each episode. I thought I found my calling!

I worked hard and graduated undergrad as Valedictorian! My passion lead me to pursue a Master's of Forensic Psychology. I thought I'd be well equipped to understand the factors that lead someone to commit criminal acts. I went on to graduate with honors from my master's program as well, I even got the opportunity to intern with the G.B.I.'s Child Fatality Unit! I was certainly ticking all the boxes off my road map to success in the order I planned!

"For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you,

plans to give you hope and a future."

(Jeremiah 29:11)

After graduation it was difficult to find a job in my field. I attempted the GBI Agent exam and failed. I considered joining a police force to work my way up to detective, but even that was a bust because I either couldn’t pass the physical exam or the on-boarding process was much to long! I was working temporary jobs every other month struggling to make sense of all the years I had invested into making "good grades" and pursuing higher education. I remember asking God "what's going on! This is not what I Planned for!" God spoke to me during this season, He asked, "Why haven't you ever asked me what I've planned for you to do?"

See, I planned my career before I knew God, so to ask His opinion didn’t even cross my mind. God gently revealed to me that I had not been called to a career in law enforcement. At first, It was difficult to accept. When I gave my life to Christ, it didn’t occur to me that I was also required to give up the plans I made. I chose to surrendered my will over to God completely, not knowing where I would end up. I thought "God, I'm not good at anything specific, what else could I possibly be called to do?" Although I was fearful, I trusted that God knew best.

"Delight yourself also in the Lord, And He shall give you the desires of your heart.

Commit your way to the Lord, Trust also in Him, And He shall bring it to pass. He shall bring forth your righteousness as the light, And your justice as the noonday.

Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for Him; Do not fret because of him who prospers in his way..."

(Psalm 37:4-7)

After a series of temporary jobs, I was once again unemployed, yet hopeful. I begin praying for God not only to bless me with a "job" but to reveal my purpose. I eventually landed a job at my current company (which is a complete miracle story in itself). I started off as a receptionist and was promoted within 5months!

What's even more amazing is that my current position requires me to do a lot of financial and compliance investigations. I spend most of my day finding solutions to problems no one ever knew we had, or busting someone for abusing the use of their company card. I'm basically the policy police! God's funny like that, he has a way of working our desires into his plan. I may not be on a crime scene, but I'm investigating every day and helping to save the company money!

"And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God,

to them who are the called according to his purpose."

(Romans 8:28)

I encourage you to Trust the Father with every part of your life especially when things are not going according to plan! When I look back on how long it took me to get to where I am now, I am grateful for each U-turn, Road block, and Detour, because it prepared me. I still have moments when I'm unsure of what God's up too, but I've learned that when it looks crazy to us, God usually has a purpose for it. #JustGoWithIt

Grace & Peace Be With You,

Kaneisha

bottom of page