top of page

Unchartered Territory


A week ago I hit a major milestone, I turned 30!! To be honest, reality still hasn’t set in just yet and I'm not really sure how I feel about it. Of course I know I can’t do anything about aging, but this season of life has been one of the most challenging to navigate, because for the first time, I don't have a solid plan. In my 20's, I could anticipate what was next, rather it was setting goals for the school year, applying for jobs, or starting a blog, I could see the next steps so clearly and easily develop the strategy.

This season is different. First of all, this is not how I pictured life for me at this age. I thought I'd surely be married, a home owner, and taking over the world by now, but that’s not my story. I'm not bitter about it, I'm honestly grateful for where I am, because I'm not prepared for most of those things just yet.

I often think about what I want my life to look like...

Of course I want a family of my own, career success, and financial stability, but I crave so much more than that, and the only way for me to get it is to trust the leadership of the Holy Spirit.


Everything I dream of accomplishing or obtaining can't simply be planned out in this season like before. I'm completely relying on God's guidance, and to be honest, it's scary because I don't know what's next!

I'm walking in unchartered territory. I can't rely on past experiences, I can only apply my faith, and hold on to God's promises, because what I'm hoping for has never been obtained, so there simply isn't a "strategy" or road map to follow.

Most days I'm hopeful, but most often I'm anxious. Learning to Trust God for things I haven't seen has been quite the learning curve. But all I can do is take it one day at a time. What keeps me going is the grace and goodness around me that can't go unnoticed. I may not be where I want to be or have all that I desire, but I'm blessed beyond measure. I lack nothing I need, I'm healthy, and employed all during a pandemic! 

I know that the plans He has for me are truly good, to give me a future and a hope. And I'm looking forward to all that is in store as I walk this uncharted path. Heyyyy 30...Lets do this!

Grace & Peace Be With You, 

Kaneisha 

bottom of page